When in Rome…EAT as the Romans Do!

italy 7

First and foremost, sorry for the hiatus. Luckily Chris has been holding it down on the site while I have been traveling like Ferdinand Magellan. In the last month, I’ve visited Poland, Italy and Oregon. I have only been in Rhode Island for one week in the last month, so unfortunately writing was temporarily put on the back burner. Things have been extremely hectic but it’s all been worth it.Β My trip to Europe turned out to be the vacation of a lifetime!

While in Italy, I visited Rome and the Amalfi Coast – two very different places (as you will see in the pictures to come). I spent the majority of my time on the Amalfi Coast surrounded by steep cliffs dividing small, unique towns filled with culture and stunning beaches. The Coast is best known for fish, obviously, but I still made it a point to eat all the pizza, pasta and gelato in sight. After all, why do you think I went to Italy anyway, for a history lesson?! πŸ™‚

If you have never been, I suggest you add the Amalfi Coast to your bucket list. I imagine it must be one of the Top 5 most beautiful places on earth. See for yourself. Here’s my vacation to Italy summed up in 15 pictures. Enjoy!

Amalfi

The Town of Amalfi

View from Anacapri overlooking Capri

View from Anacapri overlooking Capri

Statues are everywhere in Europe. This was my favorite.

Statues are everywhere in Europe. This was my favorite though.

This is how you shop and eat like the locals

This is how you shop and eat like the locals

Visiting the only Organic Water Buffalo Farm in Italy

Visiting the only Organic Water Buffalo Farm in Italy

Yes, I tasted Buffalo Mozzarella made the  same day. Unforgettable!

Yes, I tasted Buffalo Mozzarella made the same day from milk the day prior. Unforgettable!

Inside The Colosseum.  It's unbelievable how this has been preserved over time.

Inside The Colosseum. It’s unbelievable how this has been preserved over time.

Fish is usually served whole. Don't be surprised if your dinner looks like this.

Fish is typically served whole. Don’t be surprised if your dinner looks like this.

Cured Meats and Cheese for lunch at a Vineyard at the base of Mt. Vesuvius

Cured Meats and Cheese for lunch at a Vineyard at the base of Mount Vesuvius

I may have an addiction to cappuccino now.

I may have an addiction to cappuccino now.

Delicious Pastry with Espresso Cream.

Delicious Pastry with Espresso Cream.

They take their pasta very seriously in Italy. Always the best course at every restaurant!

They take their pasta very seriously in Italy. The best course at virtually every restaurant!

Let's not forget the pizza. Thin crust and toppings are sparse. Simplicity at its best.

Let’s not forget the pizza. Crust is thin and toppings are sparse. Simplicity at its best.

Sunrise on the Amalfi Coast.

Sunrise on the Amalfi Coast.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

