What’s in the Fridge? Pork and Onion Cheeseburgers

image
Going to the grocery store is fun. Yeah I said it. In fact, any type of excursion that involves a market, bakery or bodega automatically becomes an errand to look forward to. I might not even consider it an errand. I compare going food shopping to an artist with a blank canvas. Everyone has their own unique style and approach to whatever they’re buying, or drawing. In the markets you’ll see the cereal hoarders, egg carton inspectors and OCD lane-by-lane shoppers (I admit, I’m one of those). And with art, well, we all know how vast the spectrum is on that.

From time to time, I’ll be posting recipes from some of the on-the-spot meals I make. Grocery runs immediately inspire me to cook more and eat out less (especially fast food), so it’ll be fun to share some of my creations with y’all.

I just made these pork burgers for lunch and wooooo they were slammin’. I added chopped white onion, salt, pepper, and Goya Adobo (eyeball everything) to the ground pork. Mix with your hands and quickly mold them into quarter pound patties (Buy a pound and make (4) patties. Screw kitchen scales).

Heat small pan over medium heat with a little bit of vegetable oil and cook the patties 2-4 minutes on each side. Flip once. I know flipping only once may drive some people mad, but trust, it makes a world of a difference. After each side has been cooked, remove from heat.

Top burger with two slices of American cheese. Add a splash of water into the pan and cover. The steam will get the cheese all melty and gooey. Add as much Sweet Baby’s Rays as you’d like and enjoy that jawn!

1lb 100% Ground Pork
8 slices of American cheese
4 Hamburger Rolls/Buns
1/2 cup chopped White onion
2 tablespoons Vegetable Oil
Salt
Pepper
GOYA Adobo All Purpose Seasoning
Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce

Serves: 4

This entry was posted in You Are What You Cook and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

