My Trip to Montreal: Instagram Edition

If you’re a loyal follower of our food blog, I just want to first say, thank you!! There’s not a day that goes by where I don’t appreciate all of the visits you all bring to our site. I also want to apologize for my lack of posts lately. I have been extremely busy with school and work and I know both of those excuses are cliché but it’s true!!! I’ve also been traveling quite a bit and recently drove up to one of my favorite destinations: Montreal, Quebec.

This was my 4th visit to Montreal and each time brings new friends, experiences and memories. I went to my first CFL game and consumed tons and tons of Poutine, a Montreal staple. On this trip however, I decided to ditch my Canon G12 and take all of my photos with my iPhone 4 and put them on Instagram. For those unfamiliar, it’s an app that allows to edit your photos and add unique filters to them. I am totally ADDICTED to Instagram, and as you’ll see, I had some fun with it!

My friends and I made a quick stop at one of the many New Hampshire Liquor Stores. And don’t worry about smuggling booze over the border, each person is allowed 1 bottle 🙂

Downtown Montreal – Midmorning

French Onion Soup topped with a whole mess of cheese!!

We ate lunch at Ruben’s Deli in the Downtown district of Montreal. This soup was the perfect way to start the day. The bold, richness of the broth worked well with the gooey cheese atop the cauldron of soup.

As the sun began to set, we headed to Sharx where you can play some pool, roll a few frames and knock back some good ol’ Molson Import. What else do you need?!?

It was 4:30 in the AM and we were STARVING!!! We came across this 24-hour burger joint/cafe/place where all the drunk people went. Burgers were meh, (I despise frozen patties) but hey, you don’t come here for refined eats, you go for the atmosphere and it was the only place we could find near our hotel.

I didn’t really fret over the burger because I was entrenched in the side of poutine. If you were too lazy to click on the link at the top of the page, poutine is an order of french fries doused in a dark, brown gravy and then topped with a handful of curdled cheese. Trust me when I say this…IT IS THE BEST THING YOU WILL EVER EAT!!! Especially after a night on the town!!

The next morning we were in desperate need of a pick-me-up. My friend, Jimmy, recommended Orange Julep, a Montreal mainstay for over 75 years. They specialize in a special kind of orange drink, kinda like an orange creamsicle.

In a matter of minutes I had gone through a medium-sized Orange Julep. It was fantastic! It wasn’t as sweet as I had anticipated which was a good thing. It had the perfect blend of real orange juice, sugar and cream. Orange Julep was so dang tasty we actually stopped here again on our way home!

I came across this little crepe shop and had to give them a try!

Choco-Banana Crepe w/ Chocolate Gelato

I was looking for a good crepe shop all over the city and on our last day, stumbled upon La Crepe To Go. It’s a very small, cozy place. My crepe was very enjoyable and the layer of Nutella sandwiched between the crepe put a huge smile on my face.

********************

Montreal was a blast and I am counting down the days until my next trip out there. Here are a few more pictures of my travels. Hope you like ’em!

This entry was posted in Cheap Eats, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

