Spicing it Up in St. Lucia

I recently went to Sandals in St. Lucia for a much needed vacation. And it wasn’t just any vacation…it was my Honeymoon. I got married earlier this month so July was filled with chaos, for lack of a better word. There was lots to do and my wife and I spent every waking minute working towards our Wedding day. Now that it’s over, and everything went smoothly, I can honestly say I’m glad it’s over I’m happy my wife and I can move on to the next step in our lives.

I was so busy in July, I barely had a chance to go out and eat. And that’s not a good thing when you are trying to run a food blog! Luckily, on my Honeymoon, I had plenty of time to relax and taste the cuisine that is indigenous to this beautiful Tropical island.

For those that don’t know, St. Lucia is an island country in the Eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean. It’s located fairly close to St. Vincent and Barbados. Check the map below – I circled St. Lucia in red.

Other than Tourism, St. Lucia’s main source of commerce is bananas. It is something so simple, something we as Americans take for granted. But to St. Lucians, bananas are more than just a fruit, it is their livelihood. Without bananas, St. Lucia would have…nothing.

Banana fields are everywhere in St. Lucia

Mangoes are also very important to St. Lucians. One piece of advice – if you see a mango tree on someone’s property,  consider it a forbidden fruit. If you steal someone’s mango, it is a Federal offense and you will be arrested immediately. Seriously.

I avoided the risk altogether and legally (and wisely) ordered some mangoes at my resort. I can honestly say, I have never tasted a fruit so delicious in my life. I’ve had my fair share of mangoes back home but they have never tasted so fresh, so ripe, so juicy. There’s no comparison to St. Lucia. And it makes me depressed to know I probably won’t ever have a mango like it again!

Pork Chop in a Caribbean Barbecue Sauce topped with a Pineapple Salsa

On my first night, I ordered the Pork Chop pictured above. It was AMAZING! It was my first introduction to the bold flavors of St. Lucia. They sure love their spices! The Caribbean Barbecue sauce was both tangy and spicy…very spicy actually. In the states, it may be considered too spicy for some. But not for me. I loved it!

The pineapple salsa added some freshness and kept the pork juicy. The sweetness also counterbalanced the many spices in the sauce. Incorporating fruit is a common theme when dining on the island. The addition of pineapples was a great touch in my opinion.

Jerk Chicken

My wife ordered the Jerk Chicken which is an island favorite found on virtually every menu. St Lucians love their jerk sauce. They smother it on Steak, Chicken, Pork, Shrimp, Lamb, and just about everything else. There is only one word to describe this sauce…SPICY!

Jerk sauces typically get their fiery taste from Scotch Bonnet Peppers, one of the hottest peppers in the world. Nonetheless, St. Lucia’s variation is more palatable than it sounds. My wife doesn’t have much of a tolerance for spicy dishes, but this Jerk Chicken was bearable for her. It was still very spicy, but it did not burn your taste buds like you may expect. I learned to love Jerk Chicken, and by the end of the trip, I probably ate it half a dozen times. I wish I could get an authentic version in the states!

The view from my patio

I hate to sound cliche and say that St. Lucia is like paradise, but it really was. I’ve never been anywhere so beautiful. Sometimes called the Hawaii of the Caribbean for its volcanoes, black sand beaches, lush green mountains, and crystal blue water, it was more like Heaven on earth.

Here are a few more pictures to conclude my trip.

 

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spicing it Up in St. Lucia

  1. Bryan says:

    Without bananas St. Lucia would have…nothing..that statement is wrong , and from your Article and Picture , I can see you just got the Sandals experience ( what a shame)..

    another thing don’t being giving people advice , whe you do not know what you are talking about ” One piece of advice – if you see a mango tree on someone’s property, consider it a forbidden fruit. If you steal someone’s mango, it is a Federal offense and you will be arrested immediately. Seriously.”

    Or maybe this post is just some more of Sandals Propaganda. Where they try to package our Island of st.Lucia as their own ! And you travels who stay in those all inclusive resorts and criticize my island are the problem! also !

  2. Thank you for your feedback. We did leave the resort and the entire island is absolutely beautiful as I stated in the article above. As for the two points, this was information given to us from our taxi driver not affiliated with the Sandals Resort. It is possible that he misinformed me, and if that is the case, you may be right.

  3. Marc M says:

    Loved the blog. Every now and then, it is nice to get away to an all-inclusive and be pampered. I am glad you enjoyed your honey moon. The all-inclusive experience is one experience in the Caribbean, there are other types of experiences to be had of course. I for one appreciate you sharing your experience.

Leave a Reply

